Fantasy Premier League

It's all meant for Sports!!

BCCI Announced India’s squad for Asia Cup 2022; Virat Kohli and K. L. Rahul will return

Jasprit Bumrah is out of the squad due to a back injury

The Board of Control of Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the 15-member Indian squad for the Asia Cup 2022 which will commence in The United Arab Emirates (UAE) on August 27 this year. Team India will be led by Rohit Sharma with the assistance of K. L. Rahul.

Rahul was not featured in the T20I series against West Indies due to Covid 19. Before that, he has undergone surgery and missed being part of Ireland and England series. Now he is returning to the squad as the vice-captain. Dinesh Karthik and Rishabh Pant will be the other two wicket keepers along his side.

Former captain Virat Kohli is also present in the squad after his break from the West Indies series. He was absent in the last Asia Cup, and in his absence, Rohit led the team to victory over Bangladesh in the final.  

While Rahul and Kohli make a comeback, Sanju Samson and Ishan Kishan miss out on their chance to make a place in the squad.  

Jasprit Bumrah has been ruled out from the squad due to his back injury. Harshal Patel is also not available for the mega event owing to his injury. They are currently undergoing rehab in Bengaluru.

The Squad for Asia Cup 2022:

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (VC), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (Wk), Dinesh Karthik (Wk), Deepak Hooda, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.

Three other players, Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, and Deepak Chahar have been named as standbys for the team.

The 15th edition of the Asia Cup will be played in UAE between 6 teams. India, who currently holds the title will kick off the tournament with the arch-rival Pakistan on August 28. India will surely avenge the defeat in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 to stamp their authority before the ICC World Cup 2022 which will be played this year in Australia.

BCCI Announced India’s squad for Asia Cup 2022
Team India winning Asia cup 2020 | Fantasy Cricket League

By winning the trophy seven times, team India is the most successful among the other teams. Sri Lanka is in the second position after winning 5 titles.

This edition of the tournament will feature in T20 format even though the last was held in ODI format.

The five teams finalized for the tournament are India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Afghanistan. The 6th team will be decided through a qualifier match. UAE, Kuwait, Hong Kong, and Singapore will play for the qualifier.

The six teams are divided into two groups for Group Stage matches. The qualifying team will add with India and Pakistan to form Group A. Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and Afghanistan belong to Group B. Each team plays with the other once in the group stage and the top two teams from each group will go to the super 4 round. The top 2 from the super 4 will qualify for the final match.

The Super 4 stage will commence on September 3. The finale will be played on September 11 in Dubai. The two venues opted for the matches are Dubai and Sharjah.    

Fantasy Cricket League – Everything is Cricket Here!      

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow Us

Fifa is here, Get Latest Predictions for FIFA Matches at FPL

Popular Posts

Trending Predictions


Edit Template