Fantasy Premier League

It's all meant for Sports!!

India vs New Zealand 3rd T20I: India won the series with a tie in the final match

India vs New Zealand 3rd T20I: India clinched the 3-match T20I series 1-0 against New Zealand after the 3rd and final T20I match at Mc Lean Park led to a tie due to rain. Though the Indian bowlers had a brilliant show to bowl out the Kiwis in 160 in 19.4 overs, India wants to chase down the target of 76 runs in 9 overs as the rain interruption led to the Duckworth-Lewis method. With the poor batting, India managed to score 75 runs in the last bowl and tied the match.

Opted to bowl first, Indian bowlers showcased an exhilarating show as Arshdeep Singh and Mohammed Siraj claimed 4 wickets each. New Zealand lost two of their best Batters, Finn Allen (3/4) and Mark Chapman (12/12) in the powerplay itself. They had a mixed powerplay with some good shots and few wickets falling. Then came the amazing partnership between Glenn Phillips and Devon Conway. Conway scored 59 off 49 while Phillips scored 54 off 33. At that stage, it looked like the Kiwis will post a score over 180, but the Indian pacers interrupted again.

Mohammed Siraj broke the 86-run partnership by leading Glenn Phillips to the pavilion. Then Arshdeep Singh joined Siraj to rip through in the line-up.

James Neesham, Adam Milne, and Ish Sodhi went out duck while Daryl Mitchell and Mitchell Santner scored 10 and 1 respectively. In total, Kiwis reached 160 for a 10-wicket loss.

During the chase, New Zealand tried hard with the ball making India uncomfortable in scoring runs. India had a bit of momentum chasing the score. Both Ishan Kishan (10/11) and Rishabh Pant (11/5) played attacking shots but fell out cheaply. Then came Shreyas Iyer to strike but he fell into the first ball itself.

India vs New Zealand T20I Squad with the winning trophy
India vs New Zealand T20I Squad with the winning trophy | Fantasy Premier League (Credits: Twitter)

A counter-attack was expected from Suryakumar Yadav. He has started well with the bat with a six and a boundary. But when things looked under control, Yadav (13/10) was dismissed and the scoring rate decreased. Then the only hope was on the skipper Hardik Pandya who hit an unbeaten 18-ball 30 as India ended in 75 for 4 in 9 overs.

It was because of the misfield from Mitchell Santner in the last delivery of the 9th over that sealed the series for India. Santner allowed Hooda to score a single that Pandya wasn’t even keen on taking and that single run caused India to tie the match.

New Zealand needed early wickets in the game and they claimed it in the powerplay itself with Tim Southee’s 2-wicket haul. But a couple of overs were very expensive which led the visitors close to the target. When Ish Sodhi got rid of Suryakumar Yadav, Kiwis had new hope in the game. But rain spoilsport there and New Zealand lost the series. A slight fumble in the final delivery before the game interruption cost them leveling the final match.

Mohammed Siraj, claiming the first three wickets in conceding just 8 runs and the 4th wicket in 17 runs gave him the Player of the match award.    

“The wicket wasn’t easy to bat and I was prepared to bowl hard lengths which gave me the rewards. I prepared myself to bowl hard lengths and had so much practice during the World Cup and I just executed my plans. I always keep it simple. Just bowl the hard lengths. The weather is not in our hands, happy with the series win”, Siraj said after the match.

Suryakumar Yadav (111 off 51) has claimed the Player of the series award with his scintillating performance in the second match at Bay Oval. Indian skipper Hardik Pandya has got the T20I series trophy in his hands, waiting to have more action in the 3-match ODI series starting on 25th November.

Related Posts

Follow Us

Fifa is here, Get Latest Predictions for FIFA Matches at FPL

Popular Posts

Trending Predictions


Edit Template