Fantasy Premier League

It's all meant for Sports!!

IND vs AUS T20 3 of 3: Suryakumar Yadav and Virat Kohli powered India a series win over Australia

Suryakumar Yadav and Virat Kohli’s half-centuries powered India an exciting 6-wicket win over Australia in the 3rd and final T20I match at Hyderabad to seal the series 2-1. Chasing the target of 186 runs raised by Australia, Hardik Pandya hit the winning runs with a ball to spare. The win secured India’s first home T20I series victory against Australia since 2013.

Put into bat first, Australia has made a blazing start with the opener Cameron Green who smashed 7 boundaries and 3 sixes in a 21-ball 52. The young all-rounder reached his half-century in 19 balls. But India’s Axar Patel drew a mis-hit from Australia skipper Aaron Finch (7) in 3.3 overs that provide India a breakthrough in the game.

Soon, Cameron Green was also gone out by Bhuvneshwar Kumar in the 4.6 overs. Steve Smith (9) and Glenn Maxwell (6) were also sent out after the powerplay and Australia reached only 84 runs on the scoreboard. Then Josh Inglis (24 of 22) and Tim David’s partnership took the game back to track as Australia raised a minimum score. Daniel Sams also added 28 runs. Tim David (54 off 27 balls) and Cameron Green scored a bulk of runs that led Australia put 186 runs with a loss of 7 wickets.

Dinesh Karthik raising the champions trophy for India vs Australia T20 series
Dinesh Karthik raising the champions trophy for India vs Australia T20 series | Fantasy Cricket League

All-rounder Axar Patel contributed 3 wickets for India and won the man of the series award. “When you do well, and the team wins you feel nice. The things I do in the IPL, bowling in the powerplay and when you execute it well, feels nice. The line and lengths, I bowl, I back myself. Even if the batter hits a good shot, I back myself. I try and execute my plans.”, Patel says after the game.

Chahal and Harshal Patel were also pretty good in the game claiming a wicket each.

In return, India’s run chase turned out to be a difficult one after they lost the openers, Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul. India reduced to 30/2 and it was at that time Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav showcased their excellency in batting. Kohli and Yadav’s sensational 104-run stand in 62 balls before the 3rd wicket took the game away from Australia.

Yadav’s brilliant knock of 69 runs off 36 balls at the crucial time made him the player of the series. Hitting big shots in the middle overs, Yadav was playing a blinder of a knock. Yadav’s breathtaking shots all around the ground along with Kohli keep the game till the end. Yadav has scored 5 sixes and as many boundaries. But he was dismissed on the 14th over.

“In that situation, it was much needed. I thought let’s take my chance. There were two-three shots in my mind, was trying to hit over mid-off. Just loving at No.4. A lot of challenges and responsibilities as well.”, Yadav said after the match.

Suryakumar Yadav and Virat Kohli powered India a series win over Australia
Suryakumar Yadav and Virat Kohli powered India a series win over Australia | Fantasy Cricket League

“It is absolute clarity in what he wants to do. He has the game to bat in any conditions. He has an array of shots and knows when to play those shots at the right time. He is a guy who knows his game inside out and has no fear whatsoever in trying to execute those shots”, Virat Kohli said about Yadav. 

Virat Kohli took over the game after Yadav and lead the side along with Hardik Pandya. With 11 runs to win off the last over, Kohli hit a six off the first ball to make it 5 runs required off 5 balls. However, Kohli was dismissed on the next ball on 63 off 48 balls. Now the equation is reduced to four runs out of 2 balls.

It was Hardik Pandya who has given India the record-equalling win and a series victory by hitting a boundary. With a ball to spare, India finished the match.    

With the win, India marked their 21st T20I win in a calendar year, the most wins recorded by a team in Men’s T20I. it was Pakistan who held the record until now with 20 T20I wins in 2021.

Fantasy Cricket League – Everything is Cricket Here!

Related Posts

Follow Us

Fifa is here, Get Latest Predictions for FIFA Matches at FPL

Popular Posts

Trending Predictions


Edit Template