Fantasy Premier League

It's all meant for Sports!!

The Bang Again! – Team India

India celebrated their return to the number one spot in the International Cricket Council (ICC) T20I rankings after a gap of six years.  India won the first T20 match against Sri Lanka.  They beat  Sri Lanka by 62 runs at the Atal Bihari Vajpayee Stadium in Lucknow.  India lost the toss and opted to bat, scoring 199 for two in the allotted 20 overs.  Sri Lanka’s reply ended with 137 for six in 20 overs.

Ishan Kishan became the star of India with a half-century on the verge of a century.  Kishan scored 89 off 56 balls with 10 fours and 3 sixes.  Shreyas Iyer (57 not out off 28 balls) and Rohit Sharma (44 off 32 balls) were the other notable contributors.  With the win, India took a 1–0 lead in the three-match series.  The remaining matches of the series will be played on the 26th and 27th of this month at Dharamshala.

In reply, Bhuvneshwar Kumar gave India a flying start with the first ball of Sri Lanka’s first innings.  Sri Lanka’s Opener Pathum Nissanka won The Golden Duck.  Charith Asalanka is Sri Lanka’s top scorer.  He remained unbeaten on 53 off 47 balls with five fours and also, Dushmantha Chameera remained unbeaten on 24 off 14 balls.

Kamil Mishra (13 off 12 balls), Janith Liyanage (11 off 17 balls), Dinesh Chandimal (10 off 9 balls), skipper Dasoon Shanaka (3 off 6  balls), and Chamit Karunaratne (21 off 14 balls) were the other notable contributors.  For India, Bhuvneshwar Kumar took 9 for two and Venkatesh Iyer took  3 wickets and 36 runs in 3 overs.  Ravindra Jadeja and Yusvendra Chahal took one wicket each.

Two new records were born in Lucknow during the match.  Indian captain Rohit Sharma becomes the highest run-scorer in Twenty20 Internationals.  Rohit was the top scorer with 3307 runs, overtaking Virat Kohli (3296) and Martin Guptill (3299).  Yusvendra Chahal, who later dismissed Sri Lankan skipper Dasoon Shanaka, became the first Indian to take more wickets in Twenty20 Internationals than Jaspreet Bumra.

Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to field  Deepak Hooda, who made his ODI debut against the West Indies, also made his Twenty20 debut today.  Malayalee player Sanju Samson, who returned to the team after the break, was disappointed not to get a chance.  Everyone was expecting him but Shreyas Iyer came to the crease instead of him and also Ishant Kishan was dismissed in the last over and Ravindra Jadeja came in.

Fantasy Cricket league – Everything is Cricket Here!

Share this on

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Follow Us

Fifa is here, Get Latest Predictions for FIFA Matches at FPL

Popular Posts

Trending Predictions


Edit Template