Fantasy Premier League

It's all meant for Sports!!

IPL 2023 | Top 5 overseas players of all time in the IPL

Indian Premier League (IPL), the Men’s T20 franchise Cricket league in India, is an annual Cricket contest founded by the BCCI in 2007 and is now renowned for being a venue for the discovery of new cricket talents from India and other countries. Held annually in summer across India, the domestic tournament is an exclusive window in the ICC future cricket tours. IPL is also considered the most-attended cricket league in the world. So far, there have been 15 seasons of the IPL tournament and many players from India and other countries proved their worth in Cricket here.

Throughout the history of the Indian Premier League, several global superstars have consistently shone in the competition. Bringing unique skills such as exceptional power-hitting and mastery of death-bowling, the overseas players stole the heart of many Cricket lovers.

Let’s take a look at the Top 5 overseas players of all time in the IPL when the 2023 IPL schedule is released.

  • Lasith Malinga

Lasith Malinga is unquestionably the best player in IPL history. There were not many all-around bowlers at the time and Malinga made an accomplishment on the ground with his exceptional talent. Being an active Mumbai Indians player, Malinga has contributed to four out of five championships that Mumbai Indians have got. Being the most expensive player in IPL, he has taken the most wickets in IPL history. Being the captain of the Sri Lanka Cricket team, he has been regarded as one of the greatest limited-over bowlers of all time.

  • Chris Gayle

The West Indies cricketer Chris Gayle is considered one of the greatest and most destructive batsmen in T20 Cricket, set numerous records across all three formats. In IPL 2011, Gayle was awarded the Most Valuable Player and in 2012, he held the Orange Cap. Also, he broke the record for the fastest-ever T20 hundred in a thrilling knock of 175 runs from 66 balls for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Pune Warriors. He won multiple man-of-the-match awards with Royal Challengers Bangalore, the strongest team in IPL, while he was at the peak of his career from 2011 to 2014.

  • AB De Villiers

AB de Villiers, the South African legend cricketer is the only batsman to ever grace the IPL who can play all aspects of the game. Being Mr. 360°, de Villiers amazed the cricket fans by winning games single-handedly for the Royal Challengers Bangalore. In the history of IPL, de Villiers holds the record for the most man-of-the-match accolades.

A batsman who has equal proficiency against both spin and pace is rare in a cricket career. Alongside Virat Kohli, who amassed 973 runs in the 2016 season, de Villiers contributed 687 runs to RCB’s successful run in the IPL, leading them to the final.

  • Dwayne Bravo

The West Indies death-overs bowler Dwayne Bravo holds the second-best reputation in the history of IPL behind Lasith Malinga. Being CSK’s best bowler, he has contributed much to the side and they won two IPL Championships during his IPL career in 2022 and 2018.

He was a valuable asset of the Chennai Super Kings with a knack for delivering accurate yorkers and the ability to hit the ball out of the park. His exceptional fielding skills only add to his reputation as one of the most all-rounded players in the league’s history.

  • David Warner

David Warner, the Australian international cricketer, has single-handedly led the Sunrisers Hyderabad on multiple occasions in IPL. He was instrumental in the SRH’s victory in the inaugural edition of IPL in 2016. Warner, the left-handed batter is the definition of consistency in IPL. He currently holds the record for the most scores of 50 or higher in the tournament. In IPL 2023 auction, Warner is being part of the Delhi Capitals for 6.25 crores, and being a chance to lead the side in the absence of Rishabh Pant.

Related Posts

Follow Us

Fifa is here, Get Latest Predictions for FIFA Matches at FPL

Popular Posts

Trending Predictions


Edit Template